Committees at Agudas Achim

If you are interested in serving on one of Agudas Achim’s committees listed below, please contact Ari Goldberg at 614-237-2747, ext. 11 or email

1.)  Education Committee, Chair TBA – Oversees the budget for Agudas Achim’s educational programs.

2.)  Cemetery Committee, Co-Chairs Sandy Lichtenstein & Gary Lichtenstein – Handles all aspects of burial for all congregants and non-members who have purchased plots; ensures the cemetery is being properly maintained.

3.)  Library Committee, Co-Chairs Susie Kanter & Herb Solomon – Keeps the books for adults current in the main library and the children’s books that are kept upstairs in the Tot Shabbat/Babysitting room.

4.)  Building Committee, Chair Steve Block – This is the “go-to” committee for all facility related matters, including roof repairs, heating and air conditioning, and all other infrastructure issues.

5.)  Welcoming Committee, Chair Elan Daniel – Creates programs throughout the year and is in the process of implementing an advertising plan for those programs.

6.)  Kiddush Committee, Chair Amy Smith Palmer – Responsible for creating menus and preparing the weekly Kiddush held after Shabbat morning services.

7.)  Chevra Kadisha Committee, Chair Neal Shapiro – Coordinates Tahara (cleansing the deceased body and ritually guarding it prior to burial), and ensures that there is a Minyan for funerals.

8.)  Building Safety Committee, Chair Joel Cohen – Maintains the safety and security of the synagogue.

9.) Dues Reduction Committee, Chair Allan Zelman – Analyzes the needs of individuals who are unable to pay full dues.

10.) Youth Tzedakah Committee, Chair Ariel Cohen – Plans programs throughout the year to help others, such as collecting food for the Mid-Ohio Foodbank and bringing smiles to the elderly at Wexner Heritage Village.

The Women’s Group

The Women’s Group at Agudas Achim is exploding with ideas for one-time programs as well as ongoing projects that appeal to women of all ages. The group is made up of two committees:Programming and Chamsa (Outreach). The Programming Committee, with Co-Chairs Janyce Katz and Marilyn Levenson, seeks to develop stimulating and educational programs for Agudas Achim congregants. The goal of the Chamsa Committee, chaired by Robyn Silberstein, is to reach out to congregants who have a variety of needs. All Agudas Achim women are encouraged to join one or more of the following committees and/or help plan future programs. For more information about any of these committees or to sign up, please contact Janyce at, Marilyn at or Robyn at You may also call the synagogue at 614-237-2747.

The Chamsa Committee is comprised of the following committees:

1.)  We Care Committee – Co-Chairs, Buzz Kanter and Luann Lavin – this committee visits or calls congregants who may be in the hospital or homebound.

2.)  Leave the Driving to Us Committee – participants create and implement a system to transport members to shul on Shabbat and other synagogue programs.

3.)  Signature Comfort Food Committee – Chair, Keila Naparstek – committee members make a “comfort meal” for an individual or family that may have just come home from the hospital; had a baby; is sitting shiva, etc.

4.)  Thinking of You Committee – Chair, Masha Keren – committee members send cards to congregants letting them know we are thinking about them, if they have not been in shul for a while, may be homebound or ill.

5.) Circle of Life Committee.